Day 2: Favourite Movie

Tough, tough, tough decision here. I’m currently running a list of movie titles in my mind. Flipped? No, that Doraemon movie was awesome too. Hey but My Neighbour Totoro was so much more magical. So was Spirited Away… Let me think of something that made me cry. Or something that made me feel warm and fuzzy. Ugh where are memories when I need them?

After much deliberation, drum rolls~

flipped_movie-poster-01

Flipped!  (Loads of spoilers ahead)

So the battle of justification begins again. It’s one of those movies which I won’t mind re-watching several times. Pitch Perfect is close, but this one’s got the feels.

Set in an era where I never existed, it creates some sort of wonder at how life was led as a kid of the 60s. Everything seems so simple. It is also interesting how the story was narrated in both perspectives. Even if there are repeats in the events by doing so, it doesn’t lose the attention of the viewer.

That aside, I like the characters and how they grew. It’s kinda cool how both of them learnt to look beyond the surface but it actually caused the flip in attraction. Bryce became less bothered by his father and friend’s disdain for Juli and grew to like Juli for who she is. On the other hand, Juli started seeing Bryce beyond his golden hair and blue eyes, to see his flaws and all.

“And every time I saw her, she seemed more beautiful. She just seemed to glow. I’m not talking like a hundred-watt bulb; she just had this warmth to her.”

“I had liked him for all the wrong reasons.”

I could relate to some parts of the movie and there were many scenes which reflect what happens to people around us. There are many scenes I like. Shall try to list them down here.

There was a scene set in Juli’s house where her parents had a fight at the dinner table because of money and their neighbour’s impression of them. I almost bursted into tears at that moment. Maybe because it’s something I witnessed myself. The pain that Julie felt to see her parents fight and accuse each other, I know it. It’s a weird feeling, even if you’re not the cause of the fight. Fights make me feel like something precious is cracking somewhere.

Thankfully that scene is made up by the next few scenes where her parents talked to her after the fight. It gave me a warm fuzzy feeling. I wish I had that part in real life.

“I felt sorry for my father. I felt sorry for my mother. But most of all, I felt lucky for me that they were mine.”

There was another scene at Bryce’s side. Bryce’s father scorned Juli’s brothers’ pursuit of a musical career, only to hide his failure to pursue those dreams when he was much younger. Somehow that made him a character who is difficult to dislike.

It’s also something I felt was common among youngsters in Singapore. Too often than not, I’ve heard of hopes and dreams being oppressed by practicality and prestige. That scene stuck with me for a long time, even until now, because I’m afraid of being like that in the future.

Another scene that had me on the verge of tears was when Juli and her father visited their Uncle Daniel. Uncle Daniel is a mentally challenged adult with an IQ of a toddler, who is easily fascinated and contented with pinwheels and puzzles. The worst (yet best) part was the outburst at the ice cream store. It reminded me of how vulnerable people can be and how their families can be easily affected. And mainly, how lucky I am.

Last of all, there was an important lesson imparted to Juli, and me while watching, which will always ring at the back of my mind. I like how this could be applied to so many areas of life. I guess it applies anytime you make a judgement.

“‘A painting is more than the sum of its parts,’ he would tell me, and then go on to explain how the cow by itself is just a cow, and the meadow by itself is just grass and flowers, and the sun peeking through the trees is just a beam of light, but put them all together and you’ve got magic.”

Flipped is like a Rocky road chocolate bar. It packs in many sweet bits and texture while you savour it. Ultimately the experience is one which makes you want to go back for more.

Leave a Reply

