Pride

Hello! I’ve taken some time off elearning week to come back here. My haven. 🙂 Anyway, some updates!

Inter-faculty games has just ended for me! It was an awesome experience. 🙂 We finished 4th. Not the best, but marked improvement since last year! Anyway, this was the best experience for me ever since I started playing volleyball. I made many nursing friends and got to know a few juniors this time round and I totally love our team dynamics on and off court. What remains etched in my mind is not how good our opponents were, how nervous we can get in a game, but the smallest things. Singing nursery rhymes while doing PT to distract ourselves, getting chased off the courts during training cos we always can’t book it, talking about how volleyballers seem to have fat thighs which spread over the seat when we sit down, eating grapes while watching matches etc etc etc! We cheered for every point gained and support each other in every way possible in and out of court. I’ve never felt so loved as a setter before. Looking back, I would still smile when I think about the experience and when I look through all those messages after our last match. I felt that everyone was genuinely happy. 🙂 I may not have been the best setter to bring out the fullest potential of my spikers on court, but I’ll definitely work harder if we get to work together again next year! 

Ok moving on, I passed my FTT! Did the practice questions just before going for the test so everything was pretty much a breeze. In fact, it was harder to press the buttons on the insensitive touch screen monitor than to do the questions themselves. Stopped driving for 2 weeks again. Sigh. 7th lesson tmr, I hope I have not lost touch/need a lot of time to readjust myself!

By the way, it’s elearning week so I’ve been doing things in a “own time own target” way. Feels pretty good so far. Except that I feel asleep when webcasting… the weather these days are awesome!!!! Sigh, let’s hope I can catch up asap. Genetics is not my strength man. I heard it’s not a very important component in exams but there are many genetics lectures… which just somehow make the subject seem important. Starting on cancer pathology soon and I haven’t read the textbook (previously when I wasn’t so busy with trainings, I read ahead, just before they start a new topic). Lots to do…

Anyway, I feel that recently I got to know this friend better. I’m glad I did. My eternal pessimism gets me down a lot. So having someone who’s always so optimistic even when things look gloom, helps a lot. I realised she finds support from her religion quite frequently. Anyway, she helped me see things in a slightly different way. Even if it was unintentional, it reminds me of what I can do as a person and the impact I can bring to people around me. I guess what I’m trying to say is, I’m a little more aware of who I am as a person/friend. I now know I am not an observant person, which is proven through something else…, but now that I know what’s going on, I can make a positive difference to the situation. Ok this paragraph sounds quite ambiguous, but it’s because there are some things I really can’t write here. Will update my dear reader next time! 🙂

Lastly, I believe I have moved on to Acceptance on the 5 stages of grief chart (Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance). Grief, over some boy who leaves you hanging and then goes on happily with his life. But to be honest, I don’t know if I’m still stuck at Anger or have I already reached Acceptance. Maybe I didn’t go to the extent of asking the person to stay or follow whatever melodramatic plot, but I did try to show that I cared? Ok yeah, then there was sadness. Ok yes yes, Acceptance it is. 

2 thoughts on “Pride

Leave a Reply

