Vivid Sydney 1

I love typing on the laptop way more than on the tablet!

Anyway, I still owe my reader(s) a Sydney post. Actually I don’t really feel like talking about it right now but I’m afraid my memory can’t hold on for much longer haha. Ok dusting my keyboard and my brain, here goes!

Day 1 – Away from home.

I officially put flying onto the “things I dislike doing unless necessary” list. Apart from the ascend and descend (and airplane food which is absent this time), how boring can a flight get!? I mean ok, occasionally it’s nice to look out of the window and look in awe at how magnificent Earth can be. And although airplanes are one of the fastest modes of transportation, when you’re on the plane, the landscape actually moves damn slowly. Yes lesson learnt, I should have brought a book. Anyway, took the flight at night and I totally felt like strangling someone when the lights came on in the plane at the break of dawn. Sleeping in an awkward position is already pretty disconcerting, so yeah I pretty much hated the flight there.

Moving on, that day we started by collecting the relevant passes we need for the attractions and transport and explored Circular Quay. Passed by the jet boating booth and since it was a pretty good day, we decided to do that then (hence did not stick to the itinerary at all for the rest of the days too). While waiting for our turn, we walked around Circular Quay and took pictures of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House.

Image

Harbour Bridge.

Image

Sydney Opera House. Ok it’s an unflattering photo cos I couldn’t fit the entire thing into my phone screen. I’ll show a better picture later. 🙂

Image

A picture of the jet boat we took. Happened to take a picture of the boat on another day. Anyway, it was awesome! Loved the ride. I wasn’t really listening to the guide introducing the various islands/parts of the harbour. Most of the time I was just getting splashed by the water and holding on for dear life till my wrists hurt like mad. Ok now that I look back, I shouldnt have been that scared. It was safe! The seat belts were the same as those on the airplane and there were hand rails to hold on to. It was a thrilling but safe experience! I remember listening to the guide blasting Lady Gaga’s Edge of Glory and just soaking (pun!) in every moment of the awesomeness. I felt like James Bond on a boat chasing a criminal haha. Hmm I tasted the seawater at Sydney… yeah that’s something new I guess. Hahaha it’s just freaking salty. James Bond would probably have done that in style. Oh and when we started drying when we’re on land again, there was salt crystallising on my face and hair. Not really visible but I felt a lot of powdery stuff on myself. Had Hungry Jacks (nice big burger!) for dinner and we headed back to the hotel.

Day 2 – Blame it on the weatherman

Well, we can’t exactly blame him. He was right. It rained. But only in the later half of the day. So after breakfast at the hotel (bread/cereal, pay more for eggs and bacon which we didn’t), we headed to Taronga Zoo. It’s supposed to be one of the best zoos around. Hmm it was ok for me. I was just excited at the idea of visiting a zoo after… 15 years? I can’t even remember the last time I went. Some pictures I took!

Image

This, my friend, is a pigeon. Haha the cutest one I’ve seen in my life! Victoria Crowned Pigeon.

Image

 

Tasmanian Devil! I had no idea they look like that haha. I thought it was a far cry from the cartoon. Anyway, it kept running so it was difficult to take a photo.

Image

Raising awareness. Sorry I dont know how to rotate the photo here.

Image

I had to show this hahaha. Histo. During a holiday. :/

Image

 

Wallabies (if I’m not wrong)! They remind me of Alakazam from Pokemon.Image

 

Just thought this was a funny-looking picture.

Image

 

Something I couldn’t figure out explained here.

Image

 

Giraffes! 

Image

 

Image

 

ImageImageImage

 

And many more animals as you can see. I’m not even done uploading pictures of what I saw there… but we shall move on?

Image

 

Was waiting for the ferry. Actually Taronga Zoo took only half a day to tour. We expected it to be a full day thing. Oh we headed to SEALIFE Aquarium after that! Cos it started raining.

Image

Different parts of the aquarium had different themes. I didn’t really take note of each of them. Just marvelled at the great underwater world. 😀

Image

Catfish? They have whiskers. Sorry it was really difficult to take photos there cos everything is moving and my phone camera couldn’t capture the best of it. Besides it was best looking at everything while it was moving so I switched to video mode after a while.

Image

I felt like the Queen of Stingrays for a moment and my subjects were before me. Haha just kidding. I don’t know why they decided to all “park” there.

Image

 

This was gorgeous when it was moving!

Image

 

Also gorgeous when moving. It was like an underwater show.

Image

Image

 

ImageImageImageImage

 

This is a seahorse! Really pretty too. Camera did it unjust.

Image

 

Mega huge. I bet it can envelope our heads.

Image

 

Er spot the octopus?

Ok low quality photos I know. I’ll get my bro’s photos in the camera and upload them one day. Since my photos can’t speak a thousand words, I’ve to compensate for that. There are some cool stuff I saw but didn’t upload here. There was a small tank with a clownfish and a Dory-ish fish. It was mega cute. If I’m not wrong it was there to represent the characters from Finding Nemo. If not why else a clownfish and a Dory-ish fish? 🙂 I also saw a dugong! Yep the one which sailors mistook as mermaids. They are adorable too! Their faces remind me of an embryo’s though hahaha. They have this kind and endearing aura. Saw many beautiful underwater creatures too. Just magnificent. I really loved the trip to SEALIFE Aquarium! I felt like a 5 year old kid all over again, when the world still held infinite wonders. I wonder how Singapore’s new aquarium will compare to Sydney’s. Oh I forgot to mention, it’s at Darling Harbour! Had dinner there too but sadly I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I was already getting sick of meat and bread and fries. 😦 

Day 3 – Another rainy day.

Sadly. Headed to Royal Botanic Gardens. It was kinda disappointing. I guess it was due to the time we went. Nothing was blooming. 😦 It was very different from what we saw in brochures. 

Headed to the Australian Museum after that. 

Image

 

Tilt your head an you’ll see St Mary Cathedral. 

Image

 

Just Image

Just sImageImage

ImageImage

Ok I’m tired already. I’ll continue another time.

 

 

One thought on “Vivid Sydney 1

  1. since it’s easy to get sick of meat and bread and fries, tell me where you got the best meat and bread and fries! haha ^^ glad that you enjoyed the trip! 😉

Leave a Reply

